List of Senators who voted to oust De Lima as chairperson of Committee on Justice

Sixteen Senators voted YES to oust Sen. Leila De Lima as chairperson of the committee on justice and human rights on September 19.


The 16 senators who voted against De Lima are:

  • Senate President Aquilino Pimentel III
  • Senate Majority Floor Leader Vicente Sotto III
  • Sen. Alan Peter Cayetano
  • Sen. Juan Miguel Zubiri
  • Sen. Panfilo Lacson
  • Sen. Cynthia Villar
  • Sen. Sherwin Gatchalian
  • Sen. Gregorio Honasan
  • Sen. Sonny Angara
  • Sen. Joel Villanueva
  • Sen. Richard Gordon
  • Sen. Nancy Binay
  • Sen. Joseph Victor Ejercito
  • Sen. Manny Pacquiao
  • Sen. Loren Legarda
  • Sen. Grace Poe

Only 4 Senators voted to support the neophyte Senator to still become the chair committee of Justice who currently investigated the alleged extrajudicial killings happened during the Duterte administration. They are Senators Franklin Drilon, Risa Hontiveros, Francis Pangilinan and Paolo Benigno Aquino IV.

Two Senators voted Abstain, they are Senator Antonio Trillanes IV and Senator Ralph Recto.

De Lima was replaced by Senator Richard Gordon as the new chairman of the committee. The new chairperson would continue the probe to investigate the alleged extrajudicial killings happened during the present administration.

“I would like to bring to this Committee an objective investigation na ang panalo ay hindi ang Presidente, hindi si Sen. De Lima, hindi ang Senado, kundi ang taumbayan.”  Senator Gordon said after accepting the position given to him by the Senate.

Meanwhile, Senator Leila De Lima believes that President Duterte planned her removal as the committee chair who investigated the existence of the Davao Death Squad.

News, Politics

About pinoytrending

Pinoy Trending is created by our team to deliver the freshest news on the internet. Everyday, we are trying to improve our site to give more pleasant reading experience to our subscribers. Copyright © 2014. - All Rights Reserved

Previous Entries 16 Senators voted to oust Senator De Lima as the chairperson of Committee on Justice and Human Rights Next Entries Presentation of witnesses at the investigation of Congress on Proliferation of Drugs Syndicates at the NBP